After two weeks of rain, the sun finally came out on Alex's day off, so we headed out to Assisi.

View of Umbria from Assisi. The streets were VERY clean, which we found pretty odd.
On the way up to the Basilica of St. Francis, we found this restaurant with an incredible view of Umbria and Mount Subasio. Awesome food and wine too!
The basilica of St. Francis is built on the lowest slope of Mount Subasio. Here is a view from the base of the mountain.
The Upper Church. Construction began in 1228, two years after St. Francis died.

The courtyard connecting the Upper and Lower Church. St. Francis' remains were transferred here in 1230, when construction of the Lower Church was completed. Four of his most faithful companions are also buried with him in the grotto beneath the Lower Church.
Piazza di San Francesco. In front of the basilica.
It is off-peak season for Assisi right now, so there were relatively few tourists and pilgrims.